Driver's License Reinstatement Fee Information
You probably don’t realize how valuable and necessary a Michigan driver’s license is---until you lose the privilege. How do Michigan residents lose the privilege to drive? Most commonly, by getting arrested for drunk driving; refusing a chemical test; for medical reasons; or for accumulation of too many points. Once a your license is taken away, through a short-term suspension or long-term revocation, it’s often very difficult to get it restored.
There are many difficult steps involved in the driver’s reinstatement process, including the possibility of attending a revocation appeal hearing or reexamination process. The last step is typically paying a license reinstatement fee to the Michigan Secretary of State. The fee, which is normally set at $125, is a processing cost for Michigan to actually and legally reinstate a license. If you don’t pay the fine, you’ll be driving unlawfully even after undergoing a successful license appeal hearing or waiting until your suspension period ends. If you’re caught, you may face additional license sanctions and criminal charges for not paying the reinstatement fee.
While this fee is rather minimal, it still presents a hurdle for many drivers, especially if they can’t get an appointment at the Secretary of State (a common issue during the Pandemic). If you live outside the state of Michigan and are seeking a license in another state, you may face an even bigger obstacle in paying this fee.
Attorney Daniel T. Geherin, owner of MiLicenseLawyer.com and author of The Michigan Drunk Driving and Driver’s License Restoration Handbook, has been specializing in license reinstatement cases for the last 22+ years. He has dedicated his career to helping put drivers back on the road following a license suspension or revocation. He’s recognized as a license appeals specialist in Ann Arbor and throughout Michigan. He has taught seminars and written articles through the Michigan Institute of Continuing Legal Education (ICLE) on license appeal topics. He has won license appeals hearings throughout the State, and boasts a 98% success rate in winning license appeals. In the last 10 years alone, he has helped put 200+ clients back on the road lawfully and legally. And, to prove that these results are authentic and frequent, he even posts the case numbers of successful appeals on his website (MiLicenseLawyer.com) so that clients can see his extensive success.
Dan and his team can help clients pay their reinstatement fee following a successful license appeal. Here, they have attached a form in which clients can attempt to so without physically appearing at a Secretary of State branch.
For any license reinstatement case throughout Michigan, please contact Dan Geherin and his team at MiLicenseAttorney.com. They are available 24/7, they know the process inside and out, and they will fight zealously to restore and reinstate your Michigan license.
For more information, contact us or call 24/7 (734) 263-2780.
We are the key to putting you back in the driver’s seat.